Skip to content

Football All-Conference Awards Announced

By Brent Huelsmann

The Southern Illinois River to River Conference has announced the All-Conference Football Team in the Mississippi Division. The Hornets advanced further than any team in the SIRR Conference, as they were defeated by state runner-up Auburn in the IHSA Class 2A semifinals. Overall six players on the Hornets made the All-Conference team with Hunter Schultze, Nick Brown and Royce Newman making the team on both offense and defense.

On the first team offensive team the Hornets had two unanimous selctions. Senior running back Hunter Schultze, who became the all-time career offensive leader at Nashville this season, was chosen as one of the four running backs chosen on the first team offense. The other unanimous selection for the Hornets was tight end and University of Missouri recruit Royce Newman. Newman again made the all-conference team on defense as a defensive end.

The second team selections for the SIRR All-Conference Team, saw three Hornets on offense and three Hornets players on defense. On offense, senior running back Kyle Schnitker, senior offensive lineman Nick Brown, and junior wide receiver Ethan Reid were all chosen. On defense, senior Jaris Dalman was chosen as a defensive end, Brown was again chosen as a linebacker and Hunter Schultze was chosen as a defensive back.