Skip to content

Saints Win Tamaroa/St. Bruno Tournament

By Brent Huelsmann

The St. Ann Saints won first place in the Tamaroa/St. Bruno Tournament, after defeating Desoto, Elverado, and Pinckneyville. The tournament, which started on November 30, featured seven teams.

In the first round of the tournament, St. Ann took on Desoto. St. Ann took control of the game early outscoring Desoto 19-0 in the first quarter. The game wasn't close from there, as St. Ann held onto their 19 point lead at halftime before the lead swelled to 28 points at the end of the third quarter. The Saints would go on to win the game 47-31.

St. Ann was led by Terry Pelcyznki and Cole Malawy who each had 11 points in the game. Nick Miller added nine points in the game. Aaron Stanowski and Logan Eversgerd each scored six points in the gmae. Sam Bielong and Ryan Restoff each added two points to round out the scoring.

St. Ann matched up against Elverado on December 2 in their second game of the tournament. The Saints again got off to a fast start as they outscored Elverado 20-8. The game was much closer in the second quarter as Elverado outscored the Saints. The Saints still were able to hold an 11 point lead at the halftime break. St. Ann put away any chance Elverado may have had of a comeback as the Saints extended their lead to twenty points in the third quarter. St. Ann cruised in the fourth and won the game 55-37.

Pelczynski scored 22 points to lead all scorers in the game. Eversgerd scored 11 points for the Saints in the win, followed by Malawy with 10 points. Miller had six points in the game, while Bielong had four points. Stanowski scored two points to round out the scoring.

That set up the championship game of the Tamaora/St. Bruno Tournament against Pinckneyville 204. St. Ann again got the lead early, and held on throughout the game to claim the championship. A seven point lead for the Saints, expanded to nine points at halftime. St. Ann was able to extend the lead again in the third quarter to 14 points going into the final stanza. The Saints held on for the win and the championship title by a score of 35-23.

Malawy and Pelczynski tied with a game high 10 points in the game. Bielong scored six points in the win followed by Eversgerd with five points. Miller and Restoff had two points apiece to round out the scoring. St. Ann's record stands at 12-4 on the season.

St. Ann’s next game will take place December 15 when they travel to play against North Wamac.