Skip to content

Washington County Farm Bureau Wins IFB’s President’s Award

Washington CFB - President's Award BW.jpg

Washington County Farm Bureau President Gale Koelling accepts the Illinois Farm Bureau’s President’s Award and a recognition plaque from IFB Vice-President David Erickson.

The Washington County Farm Bureau (CFB) was one of five county Farm Bureaus to receive the Illinois Farm Bureau’s top honor, the “President’s Award”, at the 101st annual meeting of the state’s largest general farm organization. As part of its annual meeting held in Chicago on December 5th-8th, the Illinois Farm Bureau (IFB) presented program and committee awards in recognition of outstanding county Farm Bureau volunteer efforts throughout the year.

Washington CFB won the organization’s top honor for outstanding programs in its membership category, garnering five (6) “Gold Stars” and three (3) “Silver Stars” in the different program areas within the Farm Bureau organization.

The President’s Award recognizes county Farm Bureaus for excelling in Farm Bureau activities throughout the year, and the county must accumulate a minimum number of points based on rankings in each program award area. Other recipients included: Edwards, Monroe, Henry, and Kane County Farm Bureaus.

In committee awards competition, the Washington CFB also received “Gold Stars” for the Prime Timer, Women’s, and Young Leader Committees. Washington County also received recognition for continuous growth in its voting membership since 2013, received a “Gold Star” for its Multi-County Project efforts (working with other CFB’s), and a “Bronze Star” for the work of the organization’s charitable Foundation.

The Washington County Farm Bureau also accepted an award for one of their activities that was designated as a “Most Outstanding Project” in its respective program area. The collaborative “Mobile Agriculture Lab” trailer project donated to Kaskaskia College’s Agriculture program this past year with the help of five other County Farm Bureaus won the award in the Local Affairs program area.

Young Leader Committee member Matt Lilienkamp also represented Washington County and District 16 in the IFB Young Leader Discussion Meet. Matt advanced to the state event in Chicago by winning the District 16 event earlier in the year, and represented our organization and District well at the IFB Annual Meeting.

It was another successful year for your Washington CFB, and we thank all of our leaders, volunteers, and members for their dedication to our organization!

The Illinois Farm Bureau is a member of the American Farm Bureau Federation, a national organization of farmers and ranchers. Founded in 1916, IFB is a non-profit, membership organization controlled by farmers who join through their county Farm Bureau. IFB represents two out of three Illinois farmers.