Skip to content

NCHS Scholar Bowl Teams End Season With Winning Records

The Nashville Hornet Varsity and Junior Varsity Scholar Bowl teams had a tremendous regular season.

The Varsity team consists of John Schroeder, Tyler Williamson, Brandon Roberts, Kyle Hake, Nick Krummrich, Jacob Showmaker, Luke Cox, Quinn Laws, Briley Dahncke, and Tyler Jahnke. They ended the regular season with a record of 9-2.

The Junior Varsity team includes Jacob Woodrome, Austin Schorfheide , Brent Harris, Hannah Meade, Nick Orr, Amy Harris, Kyler Klingenberg, Mallory Knolhoff , Drew Kuhl, and Colin Laws. They ended the season with a record of 9-1. The teams are co-coached by Ericka Niedbalski and Haeli Williamson.

The first match was a tri-meet against Pinckneyville and Herrin. Top scorers were: Schroeder with (6), Roberts with (5), Williamson with (4), and Hake with (1). They won the 1st match 130- 10. They fought hard, but fell short to Herrin in the second match. Junior Varsity top scorers against Pinckneyville and Herrin were: Woodrome (5), Schorfheide (3), and B. Harris (2). JV won the matches 110-40 and 180-110.

Next, the Scholar Bowl competed in a quad-meet with Sparta, Anna Jonesboro, and Benton. The high scorers in the meet were: Williamson (8), Schroeder (6), Hake (5), Roberts (2), Showmaker (2) . They won the first match against Sparta 140-0. Then, against Anna Jonesboro, the varsity team came out on top 150-60. The Benton match ended with a win at 250-90. The JV top scorers were: Woodrome (7), Schorfheide (5) Orr (2), B. Harris (1), Meade (1) and C. Laws (1). They won the first match 190-40. The second match against AJ was a 110-60 win, and in the final match, the JV Hornets defeated Benton 140-100.

Up next, the Scholar Bowl team played a tri-meet with Duquoin and Herrin. There was a tie between the top scorers. They were: Schroeder (4), Williamson (4), and Roberts (4). They defeated Duquoin 120-60 and Herrin won the second match 180-170. JV top scorers were: Woodrome (6), B. Harris (3), Meade (2), and Schorfheide (1). They pulled off a 150-140 win against DuQuoin, and defeated Herrin 160-30.

The next meet was a quad meet with Sparta, West Frankfort, and Murphysboro. For varsity, most toss ups went to Schroeder (20), Williamson (4), Roberts (3), Krummrich (2), and Cox (1). They beat Sparta 210-60, West Frankfort 300-90, and brought home a big win against Murphysboro 210-170. The jv toss-ups went to: Woodrome (8), Schorfheide (4), Orr (1), B. Harris (2), and A. Harris (1). Jv posted wins of 160-130 0ver West Frankfort and 120-90 over Murphysboro. (Sparta did not bring their junior varsity team to this meet).

The final match of the regular season was against a very tough Carterville team. The varsity toss ups went to Roberts (4), Williamson (3), and Schroeder (2). With a great comeback after the half, they pulled off the win 240-210. The junior varsity suffered its first loss of the season at 130-220. Most toss ups earned were: B. Harris (4), Schorfheide (1) and Woodrome (1).

Coaches Niedbalski and Williamson stated, “We could not be more proud of the season our Scholar Bowl team had! They worked hard every practice, displayed awesome attitudes, and showed dedication both inside and outside the classroom. We are looking forward to going far in the postseason!”

On February 9, the jv will compete at the River to River Conference Tournament in Herrin. The varsity competes on February 16. Both teams will find tough competition, but we are confident that they will also find success!