Skip to content

Hornettes Hold End Of Season Banquet

Girls Basketball Banquet C.jpg

Sophomores Mackenzie McFeron and Karly Stanowski each earned Co-MVP Awards for the Hornettes basketball team. The Hornettes lost in the regional final against Mater Dei.

By Brent Huelsmann

The Nashville Hornettes girls basketball team, held their end of the season banquet on March 3 to wrap up the season. The Hornettes finished with a 19-9 record. Nashville lost in the Regional Final to Mater Dei to end their season. The Hornettes finished the season with an undefeated record in conference play, and won their 16th consecutive Southern Illinois River to River Conference Championship.

A young team for the Hornettes this season, five of the nine losses for Nashville came to 3A or 4A teams. In the Nashville Thanksgiving Invitational, the Hornettes lost to 3A Mascoutah, and 4A Collinsville. The Hornettes would go on to lose to O'Fallon in the Mascoutah Holiday Tournament, Carbondale in early January, and Taylorville in the Highland Tournament.

The Hornettes went 10-0 in conference play, capturing their 16th straight conference title. This season, Paige Kasten, Mackenzie McFeron, and Karly Stanowski all earned All-Conference honors for the Southern Illinois River To River: Mississippi Division.

At the end of the season banquet, members of the Freshmen team, JV team, and varsity team were all honored. This years freshmen team consisted of Carli Hoffman, Cydni Wrobel, Emily Stern, Grace Maschhoff, Jacie Hopfiner, Jenna Harris, Katlyn Anderson, and Kylie Kozuszek. The JV roster was: Brooke Bartling, Jordan Stiegman, Vanessa Wyciskalla, Libby Ahlers, Sophie Heck, Brooke Bowman, Carli Hoffman, Kylie Kozuszek, Emily Stern, and Jenna Harris.

Hornettes players that dressed for varsity this season were: Janie Holle, Paige Kasten, Mackenzie McFeron, Brooke Bartling, Libby Ahlers, Vanessa Wyciskalla, Rachael Kell, Jordan Stiegman, Sophie Heck, Brooke Bowman, Karly Stanowski, Jenna Harris, Emily Stern, Kylie Kozuszek, and Carli Hoffman.

Karly Stanowski and Mackenzie McFeron brought home the honor of Co-MVP this season. Stanowski and McFeron had previously been named a part of the IBCA All-State Team Special Meniton. Janie Holle was honored with the free-throw award, as the best free-throw shooter on the team.

This season the Freshmen team finished with a 3-6 record, facing a very difficult schedule including some varsity teams. The JV team finished the year with an 8-8 record.