Skip to content

Nashville FFA Wins Big At District Proficiencies

NCHS FFA District Proficiencies C.jpg

By Kendall Dodson

Chapter Reporter

Twelve members of the Nashville FFA Chapter headed to Benton on March 11th to compete in the District V Proficiency Competition.

To advance to District, members are required to place first at the Section Proficiency contest in February.

The Agricultural Proficiency Awards honor FFA members who, through their Supervised Agriculture Experience (SAE), have developed specialized skills that they can apply toward their future careers.

Students can compete for awards in approximately 50 areas covering everything from Agricultural Communications to Wildlife Management. 

Most award areas have two categories, placement and entrepreneurship.

Placement proficiency awards are based on SAEs that are related to employment, apprenticeships, or internships at an agribusiness or agriculture-related organization.

Entrepreneurship proficiency awards are based on SAEs that are related to ownership of an agribusiness or agriculture production enterprises.

Proficiency awards are given out at the section, district, state, and national levels.

Placings for NCHS students were: Kendall Dodson – first in Agriculture Communications, Sarah Herrmann – first in Agriculture Education, Mason Niedbalski – first in Dairy Production Entrepreneurship, Kyle Lamczyk – first in Dairy Production Placement, Austin Schorfheide – second in Diversified Crop Production Entrepreneurship, Zach Williamson – second in Grain Production Placement, and Tianna Kozuszek – first in Safety.

Other members that participated are Abby Kempfer, Emily Wisely, Derek Fullerton, Brendon Schettler, and Cole Herrmann.

Members who placed first at this contest will advance to the State Proficiency Contest in April held at the University of Illinois.

NCHS FFA District Winners, FRONT ROW, Cole Herrmann, Austin Schorfheide, and Brendon Schettler; MIDDLE ROW, Mason Niedbalski, Tianna Kozuszek, Sarah Herrmann, and Emily Wisely; BACK ROW, Kyle Lamczyk, Abby Kempfer, Zach Williamson, Derek Fullerton, and Kendall Dodson.