IBCA Class 1A/2A All-State Team Announced

The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association named their Class 1A/2A All-State Baskeball Team this past weekend during the IHSA Class 1A/2A State Finals. Fifteen players were named All-State First Team.

Included is Nashville High School senior Royce Newman. Newman finished his career with over 1,700 points and was a four year starter. Newman was a part of four conference championships, three regional championships, and the state runner-up team in 2013-14. Newman averaged 17 points and nine rebounds per game this seaosn. Okawville junior Noah Frederking was also named as a part of the first team. Frederking averaged 20.4 points and 8.2 rebounds per game for the Rockets this season.

The rest of the first-team was: Brandon Suggs, Winnebago; Brandon Trimble, St. Joseph Ogden; Dakota Bannington, Peoria Christian; Demarius Jacobs, Chicago Uplift; Donovan Oliver, Kewanee; Doug Wallen, Champaign St. Thomas More; Gentry Whiteman, Rockridge; Logan Kohrmann, Breese Central; Marc Taylor, Chicago Francis Parker; Matt Chastain, LeRoy HS; Matt Wendling, Athens; Phelan Kelly, Brimfield; and Travis Schoonover, Reed Custer.