Skip to content

Okawville Student, Lintker, Heads To Springfield For Illinois Electric and Telephone Cooperatives’ Youth Day

TRI C BW.jpg

Okawville High School Student Allyson Lintker, NEAR CENTER, accompanied Brad Austin, SECOND FROM RIGHT, of Tri-County Electric Co-op and other southern Illinois students to Springfield for Illinois Electric and Telephone Cooperatives’ Youth Day, where they visited State Representative Charlie Meier and State Senator Dave Luechtefeld, to Lintker’s LEFT and RIGHT, respectively.

Rep. Charlie Meier and Sen. David Luechtefeld met with students representing Tri-County Electric Cooperative during the Illinois Electric and Telephone Cooperatives’ Youth Day on Wednesday, April 13 in Springfield. More than 225 students from around Illinois had an opportunity to visit the State Capitol, view state government in action and question their legislators on key issues. They also were invited into the office of Secretary of State Jesse White.

During lunch, Treasurer Michael Frerichs addressed students and chaperones and challenged them to take an interest in the political process and encouraged them to follow their dreams and do what interests them because life can take interesting turns and twists. Jyostna Bitra, the 2015-16 Illinois Youth Leadership Council Representative from Corn Belt Energy Corporation, spoke about her experience on the Youth to Washington tour and challenged attendees to maintain an interest in their cooperatives and the political process. While in Springfield, the students also visited the Supreme Court, Old State Capitol, and the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum.

Students had the opportunity to test for the chance to participate in the Youth to Washington Tour from June 10 – 17, 2016. The top scoring students from each county and an alternate were selected to go to Springfield for Youth Day.

Youth Day is designed to introduce young rural leaders to state government. There were 26 co-operatives from across the state represented at the event.

Tri-County Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy — an alliance of 750 local, consumer-owned electric utilities around the country. Tri-County Electric is committed to providing superior service based on four core principles: integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community. Tri-County serves more than 16,102 meters over 3,388 miles of line in parts of Franklin, Jefferson, Marion, Perry and Washington counties.

For more information, visit