Skip to content

Hornets Grab Fifth At Conference

Boys Track 1 C.jpg

Dylan Kwiatkowski launches the discus during the Southern Illinois River To River Conference Meet held at DuQuoin High School.

With Sectionals right around the corner, the Nashville Hornets wrapped up their final two meets of the season, as they competed in the SIRR Conference meet at DuQuoin on May 12, and their final home meet before sectionals, the Jared Morris Invitational on May 16. The Hornets would come away with fifth place in both meets.

The weather was perfect for the SIRR Conference meet, as the Hornets looked to sweep both the boys and girls conference titles in the Southern Illinois River to River Conference. The Hornets would end up fifth, as Pinckneyville ran away with the meet in the Mississippi division, taking home first place with 134.5 points. DuQuoin finished second, followed by Carterville in third, and Sparta in fourth. Anna-Jonesboro finished sixth.

Leading the way in the field events for Nashville was Gavyn Leitz, who took home the Hornets only first place finish in field events in the pole vault. Lietz cleared 11 feet to take home the title. Leitz also finished fourth in the triple jump with a jump of 38-01. Daymeon Baugh finished sixth in the triple jump, and Tabor Kozuszek finished fifth in the high jump to round out the scoring in the field events for Nashville.

As the running events started, Nashville got out of the gate quick, as Jackson Pierce, Caleb Zgonina, Ryan Kell, and Brandon Schnitker, obliterated the meet record, and claimed the school record in the 4X800M relay. The Hornets time in the relay was 8:15.49, narrowly beating the previous school record, 8:15.56, which was set in 1995. The Hornets dominated the event beating second place Carterville by just under 30 seconds.

The Hornets would also take home first place in the 4X400M relay as Derryn Holmes, Kell, Schnitker, and Pierce, beat second place Carterville across the line. The Hornets would earn four second place finishes in the running events as Pierce brought home second in both the 400M dash, as well as the 200M dash. Schnitker would cross the line just behind Austin Knight from Carterville to get second in the 1600M run. The last second place finish came from the team of Baugh, Kozuszek, Landon Davis, and Leitz in the Freshman 4X200M relay, as they were narrowly beat by DuQuoin. Also scoring for Nashville was Kell in the 800M run with a third place finish, Leitz finished fifth in the 110M hurdles, Reid finished fourth in the 300M hurdles, Davis was fourth in the 3200M run, Zgonina was sixth in the 1600M run, and the team of Kozuszek, Alec Johns, William Wyciskalla, and Reid finished fourth in the 4X200M relay.

In the Hornets last meet before Sectionals, teams had to battle cold, wet conditions in the Jared Morris Invitational. The Hornets would again finish fifth out of twenty teams, as Wesclin took home the title, followed by Benton and Breese Central.

The Hornets would finish first in three different events, as the Hornets crossed the line first in the 4X400, 4X800, and the 1600M run. Again the Hornets dominated the 4X800M race finishing 25 seconds before second place Pinckneyville. The team of Pierce, Zgonina, Kell, and Schnitker paced the field and ran away from the competition. The 4x400M relay was closer, but the hOrnets edged a three second victory over second place Benton. The team of Kell, Pierce, Holmes, and Schnitker finished the race in 3:31.08. In the 1600M run, Schnitker was able to pull away late from Corbin Schwable of Freeburg to take home the first place finishe in a time of 4:39.9.

Kell was the next highest finisher for Nashville as he took home third place in the 800M run with a time of 2:06.05. Holmes finished fourth in the 400M dash, and Leitz finished fourth in the pole vault. Kozuszek cleared 5-08 in the high jump for the Hornets and the Hornets took home sixth place in the 4X200M relay.

Wesclin took home first place in the 4X100M relay, an event in which Jared Morris was a part of at Nasvhille High School. Jared Morris, Justin Morris, Josh Povolish, and Jarod Rybacki still hold the school record of 42.9 seconds in the event. The team and won the state title in the 4X100M Relay in 1997 with a time of 43.83.