Skip to content

Nashville Cross Country Successful In New Athens

Girls Cross Country.jpg
Boys Cross Country 1 C.jpg

The Nashville Girls Cross Country team, won the second place trophy at the New Athens Invitational on Monday night. From left to right: Jaylyn Bower, Avery Meade, Taylor Cook, Jadah Heidel, Brittnie Bartling, Grace Maschhoff, Rachael Kell, Sabrina Kollbaum.

Okawville Cross Country 1 C.jpg

Nashville Junior Brandon Schnitker finished first in the boys race in New Athens on August 22.

The Nashville and Okawville Cross Country teams began their seasons Monday night in the New Athens Invitational. On the girls side, Nashville finished in second place with 88 points, just behind Althoff with 74 points, and just ahead of Okawville with 94 points. On the boys side, Nashville finsihed in third place with 141 points behind Steeleville and Columbia. Okawville's boys cross country team finished in 12th position.

In the boys race, Nashville's Brandon Schnitker ran away from the competition finishing in a time of 16:42 in first place. Landon Davis cross the line in 11th place overall with a time of 18:07, while Caleb Zgonina finished in 18th place with a time of 18:23. The fourth Hornets runner in the race was Gavin Love in 24th place with a time of 18:40. Nicholas Orr rounded out the top five for Nashville as he finished in 87th place with a time of 21:37. Evan Anderson finished with a time of 22:10, and Zach Langa finished with a time of 23:32 to round out the Nashville team. The top finisher for Okawville was Russell Rodely in 31st place with a time of 19:24, followed by Tyler Roesener in 42nd with a time of 20:02.

In the girls race, Okawville finished with the top two positions as Mallory Unverfehrt finished in first with a time of 21:19, followed closely by Abby Riechmann with a time of 21:23. Madelyn Tepe was the third Okawville runner to cross the line in seventh with a time of 22:02. Grace Maschhoff was the first Nashville runner across the line in eight place with a time of 22:08, followed closely by Brittnie Bartling in ninth with a time of 22:28. Sabrina Kollbaum was third for Nashville in tenth place with a time of 22:30. Jaylyn Bower finished 19th overall with a time of 23:24, and Taylor Cook rounded out the top five Nashville runners in 42nd place with a time of 25:13. Also running the race for Nashville was Rachael Kell, who finished in 49th place with a time of 26:07, Avery Meade who finished in 57th place with a time of 26:54, and Jadah Heidel who finished in a time of 28:32.

Okawville’s Mallory Unverfehrt and Abby Riechmann finished first and second overall in the New Athen Invitational, but was not enough to overcome Nashville as they finished third behind the Hornettes