Skip to content

Cross Country Competes In Murphysboro Invitational

The boys and girls cross country teams traveled down to Murphysboro on August 31, to compete in the Murphysboro Invitational. Both Nashville and Okawville competed in the event, in which the boys race was affected by heavy rain.

In the boys race, Nashville finished with the second overall finisher, as Brandon Schnitker finished the race in 17:41. Overall the Hornets finished in seventh place, behind Pinckneyville, Marion, Herrin, Salem, Steelville, and Mt. Vernon. Finishing second for the Hornets in the meet was Caleb Zgonina, who finished in 23rd place with a time of 19:47. Gavin Love was the third runner for Nashville to cross the line in a time of 19:48 in 25th place. Landon Davis wasn't far behind Love with a time of 20:05 in 30th place. Rounding out the top-five runners for Nashville was Nicholas Orr in 83rd place with a time of 22:19. Evan Anderson and Brandon Restoff also ran for Nashville, finishing in 23:47 and 24:24 respectively.

The boys team for Okawville came away from the meet with 15th place overall. The top finisher for the Rockets was Tyler Roesener in 51st place with a time of 20:53. Russell Rodely was the next finisher for Okawville in 21:28, which was good for 66th place. Drew Frederking ran the course in 22:26, finishing in 89th place, just ahead of his teammate Josh Madrid who finished in 91st place in a time of 22:28. Payton Riechmann was right behind Frederking and Madrid with a time of 22:37 in 93 place. The final finisher for Okawville was Logan Riechmann in 100th place with a time of 22:59.

In the girls race the Hornettes finished in sixth place with 171 points behind Mt. Vernon, Okawville, Carterville, DuQuoin, and Pinckneyville. The Hornettes top finisher in the race was freshmen Sabrina Kollbaum in 16th place with a time of 24:09. Jaylyn Bower was second for Nashville in the race with a time of 24:59, which was good for 25th place overall in the race. Brittnie Bartling was third for Nashville in 33rd place with a time of 25:48 followed closely by Grace Maschhoff in 38th place in a time of 26:19. The fifth Hornettes runner to cross the line was Taylor Cook with a time of 28:10 in 59th place, followed by Rachael Kell and Jadah Heidel who finished in 28:35 and 32:38 respectively.

The Okawville Lady Rockets finished second overall 20 points behind Mt. Vernon. Okawville's top finisher was Mallory Unverfehrt with a time of 23:13 in seventh place overall. Abby Riechmann finished just behind Unverfehrt in ninth place with a time of 23:27. Okawville's third finisher of the race was Madelyn Tepe, in 15th place with a time of 24:07. Megan Cook and Laura Weber rounded out the top five for the Lady Rockets as Megan Cook finished in 42nd place with a time of 26:26, and Weber finished in 53rd place with a time of 27:47. The final runner for Okawville was Amber Koch, who finished in 99th place in a time of 33:09.