Lutheran Women’s Missionary League Has 38th Biennial Convention Of Southern Illinois District

The 38th Biennial Convention of the Southern Illinois District Lutheran Women’s Missionary League was held September 16 and 17 at the Our Savior Lutheran High School, Evansville, IL. The theme was “Bountiful Blessings—Abundant Fruits” based on Corinthians 9:8 (NIV) “And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.”

On the opening evening of the convention, over 50 women shared in a time of fellowship. The evening was hosted by the Young Women Representatives (YWR’s) of the Southern Illinois District. The evening included fellowship, games, singing and participating in the assembly of 61 gift bags for Human Services of Red Bud that assists local men and women with disabilities as their mission project.

September 17 opened with a Holy Communion celebration worship service with 242 in attendance. Greetings were presented by the Rev. Michael Walther, 2nd Vice President of the Southern Illinois District of the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod; Mr. Dan Roth, Promotion Director, Lutheran Church Extension Fund of Southern Illinois District of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod; and Kaye Wolff, National LWML Vice President of Special Focus Ministries.

During the day past recipients of mission grants were introduced and presented the outcome of their funding. This year there were 20 applications for mission grants accepted. The total amount of funds to be distributed was voted on and approved. The following grant proposals will be funded for the 2016-2018 biennium:

Trinity/HOPE feed Children of Lutheran School in Haiti, Gallatin, TN $2,500; Unity Lutheran Christian Elementary School, East St. Louis, IL $4,000; LCMS U at SIUE-Edwardsville, IL Campus Ministry Outreach Program $3,000; American and International Student Ministry, Carbondale, IL $4,000; Camp Wartburg’s “Shepherding Sheep” Camp for people with disabilities $4,000; Seminary Student Scholarships SID $8,000; Student Assistance Fund Scholarships SID $4,000; Christ Our Rock Lutheran High School, Centralia, Rev. Timothy Mueller Mentor Grant $4,000; Lutheran Bible Translators-Lectionaries in Mother Tongue for Lutheran Churches in West Africa $1,000; Metro East Lutheran High School, Edwardsville, Il- Student Scholarship and Tuition Assistance $4,000; Shared Prison and Jail Ministry in Southern Illinois District, LCMS $7,000; Christ Our Savior Lutheran High School, Evansville, IL – Tuition Assistance Fund $4,000; Southwestern Illinois College, Belleville, IL-Lutheran Student Fellowship $4,000; Lutheran Braille Workers Center, New Minden, IL- Today’s Light $2,500

Rev. John Lukomski, pastor of Trinity Lutheran, Darmstadt, and St. Paul Lutheran church, New Athens, presented “Luther Moments” throughout the day.

Keynote speaker, Author, Katie Schuermann, presented on the topic “Pew Sisters: Blessings Abounding in Christ, based on 2 Corinthians 9:8, the convention theme.

Members nominated and voted into positions: Pastoral Counselor, Rev. Terry Grebing of Holy Cross Lutheran Church, Renault; Recording Secretary, Patricia Liefer from Red Bud; Vice President of Gospel Outreach, Miriam Koehne of Greenville; Vice President of Christian Life, Debra Albers of Carlyle; Vice President of Communications, Sharon Guebert of Red Bud. They were installed for four-year terms before the end of the convention.

Six Resolutions were presented and a vote for each was taken: all were passed.

The Lutheran Women’s Missionary League is the official auxiliary of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod. Since 1942, the LWML has focused on affirming each women’s relationship with Christ, encouraging and equipping women to live out their Christian lives in active mission ministries and to support global missions, according to the organization.

Attending from Trinity Lutheran Church, Nashville were Jan Endres, Nancy Bejma, Lorene Haertling, Phyllis Silger, Dolly McFeron and Sue Mueller.

Attending from St. John’s Lutheran Church, New Minden were Dawn Mueller, Deb Lange and Natalie Ibendahl.

Attending from Immanuel Lutheran Church, Okawville was Adeline Blumhorst.

Attending from Trinity Lutheran Church, Hoyleton was Elaine Meyer, Carlene Michael, Ann Schnitker, Elaine Spenner and Norma Tucker.