Skip to content

KC Pre-Engineering Students Visit SIU Edwardsville

SIU-E Visit 2016pic BW.jpg

Kaskaskia College’s Pre-Engineering students recently visited Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville.

The trip gave the KC students the opportunity to observe an engineering class as well as tour the engineering labs used for instruction. Some of these labs visited included SIUE’s concrete lab, materials lab, soil testing lab, wind turbine lab, industrial engineering lab, programming lab, etc.

For lunch, the engineering students had the opportunity to meet with former KC Engineering 2+2 students who gave advice and testimonials of their transition to SIUE engineering junior level coursework.

After lunch, the engineering students met with officers of several engineering clubs such as the Mini Baja club and Solar Car club.

The SIU-E engineering deans where also present throughout the day and were very pleased with the preparation and talent of the students that transfer through the Kaskaskia College 2+2 agreement with SIU-E.

SIUE Dean Cem Karacal said “ I want to thank you for not only bringing the students to our campus to get to know SIUE better, but also recruiting the best and preparing them well to succeed here”.

The majority of students receiving engineering degrees through the 2+2 agreement have found jobs locally as engineers.

Kaskaskia College President and CEO Dr. Penny Quinn joined the field trip to learn more of the details of the 2+2 agreement as well as to investigate other opportunities to further the connection with SIU-E.

Pictured are SIUE Mini Baja club officers, Adam Brocksieck and Tim Talbert; Dr. Chris Gordon, SIUE Associate Dean of Engineering; Clayton Vanderson (Okawville); Dr. Cem Karacal, SIUE Dean of Engineering; Jonathan Barker (Nashville), William Wyciskalla (Nashville), Jeff Eilers (Germantown), James Johnson (Greenville), Jordan Zeisset (Trenton), Russell Woltering (Carlyle), John Orlet (Aviston), Ryan Hall (Breese), Kaskaskia Engineering Coordinator, Eric Hofelich; Kaskaskia College President and CEO, Dr. Penny Quinn;, Joshua Pate (Breese), Shelby Peradotti (Salem), Mitchel Pierce (Centralia), Chelsey Deiters (Breese), Seth Edmonson (Centralia), Isaac Gebke (Germantown), Matthew Dobbs (Centralia), Nicholas Kuhl (Breese), Joseph Huelsmann (Breese), Andy Becker (Carlyle), SIUE Solar Car club officers Michael Schalk, Sydney Stogner, and Triston Cooper.