Skip to content

Washington County Farm Bureau Honored At IFB Meeting

122116 Washington CFB Policy Debate C.jpg
122116 Washington CFB - President's Award C.jpg

Gale Koelling, Mike Chwasczinski, Wayne Lintker, and Roger Greten were the Washington County Farm Bureau Delegates participating in the policy debate process during the resolutions process of the Illinois Farm Bureau Annual Meeting in Chicago.

22116 Washington CFB Discussion Meet C.jpg

The Washington County Farm Bureau (CFB) was one of only five county Farm Bureaus to receive the Illinois Farm Bureau’s top honor, the “President’s Award”, at the 102nd annual meeting of the state’s largest general farm organization. As part of its annual meeting held in Chicago on December 3rd-6th, the Illinois Farm Bureau (IFB) presented program and committee awards in recognition of outstanding county Farm Bureau volunteer efforts throughout the year.

Washington CFB won the organization’s top honor for outstanding programs in its membership category, garnering six (6) “Gold Stars” and three (3) “Silver Stars” in the different program areas within the Farm Bureau organization. The President’s Award recognizes county Farm Bureaus for excelling in Farm Bureau activities throughout the year, and the county must accumulate a minimum number of points based on rankings in each program award area. Other recipients included: Edwards, Knox, Bureau, and Champaign County Farm Bureaus.

ABOVE, Washington County Farm Bureau President Gale Koelling accepts the Illinois Farm Bureau’s President’s Award and a recognition plaque from IFB Vice-President David Erickson. BELOW, Washington CFB Young Leader Chairman Matt Lilienkamp gives his opening statement during the second round of the Young Leader Discussion Meet at the Illinois Farm Bureau Annual Meeting.

In committee awards competition, the Washington CFB received “Gold Stars” for the Prime Timer, Women’s, and Young Leader Committees, and Manager Brad Conant was also recognized on stage as the recipient of the “Friend of Young Leaders” award for Membership Group II.

Washington County also received recognition for continuous growth in its voting membership since 2013, received a “Gold Star” for its Multi-County Project efforts (working with other CFB’s), and a “Bronze Star” for the work of the organization’s charitable Foundation.

The Washington County Farm Bureau also accepted awards for two of their activities that were designated as “Most Outstanding Projects” in their respective program areas. The Young Leader Committee’s “Auxiliary Lighting for Farm Equipment” project won the award in the Health & Safety program area, while the organization’s survey and TV drawing during the CFB Annual Meeting won the award in the Policy Development program area.

Young Leader Committee member Matt Lilienkamp also represented Washington County and District 16 in the IFB Young Leader Discussion Meet. Matt advanced to the state event in Chicago by winning the District 16 event earlier in the year, and represented our organization and District well at the IFB Annual Meeting.

It was another successful year for your Washington CFB, and we thank all of our leaders, volunteers, and members for their dedication to our organization!

The Illinois Farm Bureau is a member of the American Farm Bureau Federation, a national organization of farmers and ranchers. Founded in 1916, IFB is a non-profit, membership organization controlled by farmers who join through their county Farm Bureau. IFB represents three out of every four Illinois farmers.