Skip to content

Hornets Win Murphysboro Tournament

Back Row: Jacob Machhoff, Terry Pelczynski, Tanner Bergmann, Matt Anderson, Kelton Harre, and Coach Patrick Weathers. Front Row: Joe Morris, Gavin Love, Tristen Hercules, Chad Brinkmann, and Neil Kabat

By Brent Huelsmann
For the second straight season, the Nashville Hornets Sophomore Boys Basketball team took home the Championship in the Murphysboro Tournament. The Hornets defeated Central in overtime 52-45 to take home the Championship.
The Hornets started out the tournament on February 25. Nashville played in the first game of the tournament, as they defeated Egyptian 50-22. The Hornets were back in action in the tournament on March 2 as they took on Herrin. A much closer matchup, the Hornets were able to come away with a 53-49 victory.
Nashville moved on to the Semi-FInal which took place on March 4. The Hornets took on Marion. Nashville came away with a 45-33 victory. Leading the way for the Hornets was Matt Anderson with 16 points, and Tanner Bergman with 13 points.
After Central defeated Murphy in the other Semi-Final matchup, it set up a Championship game between the Cougars and the Hornets. Four quarters would not be enough to decide the game, as the Hornets needed overtime to defeat Central 52-45. Kelton Harre led Nashville with 4 points in the game, and went 13-15 from the free throw line.
Matt Anderson and Terry Pelczynski were named to the All-Tournament Team.
Overall the Nashville Sophomore Boys Basketball team finished 14-1.

Leave a Comment