Skip to content

Two Hornets Named To All Conference Team

By Brent Huelsmann
The All-Conference teams were announced for the Southern Illinois River to River Conference Mississippi Division with two Nashville Hornets earning the honor. Overall Pinckneyville led all schools in the Mississippi Division with three players named to the All-Conference team. DuQuoin, Nashville, and Carterville both had two players, while Anna-Jonesboro had one player named to the team.
This year’s All Conference team in the Mississippi Division was: Ryan Brink and Brogan Kemp of Nashville, Grant Jausel, JC Moll, and Tyler Rulevish of Pinckneyville, Taylor Heil and Brendan Beasley of Carterville, Caleb Vogel and Braden Heape of DuQuoin, and Jake Parr of Anna-Jonesboro.
Brink finished the season, second on the Hornets in points per game as he averaged 11.7 points per game this season. Brink started every game this season for Nashville, and finished with a team-high 64 three point field goals. Brink also finished second on the team in free throw percentage, as he made 79.6% from the charity stripe.
Kemp led the Hornets in scoring, blocks, and rebounds this season. Kemp scored 14.5 points per game, and averaged 6.5 rebounds per game, as he grabbed a total of 216 rebounds this season. Kemp was well ahead the rest of the team with 34 blocks this season, and finished second with 86 assists on the year.
The Hornets season ended in the Sectional Championship game with a 55-48 loss to Alton Marquette. The Hornets finished with a 20-13 record.
The Southern Illinois River to River Ohio Division All-Conference team was: Jeremy House and Jaron Gaston of Murphysboro, Austin Willis, Derek Oxford, and Timmy Henson of Benton, DJ Spell and Jake Downen of Herrin, Darian Roundtree and Isaiah Thompson of Massac County, Isaiah Saulsberry of Harrisburg, and Noah Allen of West Frankfort.

Leave a Comment