Skip to content

IBCA Coach Of The Year And Hall Of Fame Banquet

From left to right: Doug Althoff, Tierney Moore, and Wayne Harre. Not pictured: Brad Weathers.

The 2017 Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Coach of the Year and Hall of Fame banquet was held this past Saturday, with four Nashville coaches receiving awards. Brad Weathers, Tierney Moore and Doug Althoff were each named the IBCA District 20 Coach of the Year, at their respective level. Former NCHS Athletic Director and Girls Basketball coach was named to the IBCA Hall of Fame.

Harre had a very successful career at NCHS as a head coach which spanned 15 seasons. In his time as head coach of the Hornettes basketball team, Harre never lost the Conference championship, and won every Regional that he coached in. Harre won the 2013 Class 2A State Championship before leaving the bench after the 2014-15 season. Harre finished with 412 coaching victories.

Weathers, a IBCA Hall of Famer, was named as the IBCA District 20 Coach of The Year for varsity boys basketball. Weathers, in his final year on the bench, coached the Hornets to a 20-13 record. It was the 31st consecutive winning season for the Hornets boys basketball program. This season the Hornets won the Lebanon/Wesclin Thanksgiving tournament, finished second in the Mater Dei Tournament and won their Regional. Nashville also got a thrilling victory over the rival Pinckneyville Panthers before falling in the sectional championship game to Alton Marquette.

Althoff coached the Hornettes to a 23-7 record this season, and was named the IBCA District 20 Coach of the Year for varsity girls basketball. After returning most of the team from the 2015-16 season, the Hornettes started out hot as they won the NIT Championship in late November. The Hornettes would go on to finish fifth in the Mascoutah tournament against stout competition, and come back from an opening round loss in the Highland Tournament to win the Consolation Championship. The Hornettes won their regional this season with a thrilling win over Greenville, but lost to Mater Dei in the Sectional Championship.

Moore, the coach of the SIJHSAA Class M State Champion runner-up Jr. Hornettes was also named Coach of The Year for District 20. Moore coached the Jr. Hornettes to a 22-6 record this season, and just fell short in the state championship game to Vienna.

Leave a Comment