Skip to content

Youth to Washington Tour 2017

    From left to right: Sierra Wetmore, Brittaney Wynn, Congressman John Shimkus, Hannah Liske and Rachel Beckham.

Rachel Beckham of Woodlawn, Hannah Liske of Okawville, Sierra Wetmore of Iuka and Brittaney Wynn of Alma represented Tri-County Electric Cooperative in Washington, D.C., during the annual “Youth to Washington” Tour, June 9-16. This event, sponsored by the electric and telephone cooperatives of Illinois since the late 1950s, is an introduction to our democratic form of government and cooperatives for rural youth.

The students met with Congressman John Shimkus, Congressman Mike Bost, U.S. Senator Dick Durbin, and were among 69 rural Illinois youth leaders selected for the trip. The Illinois students joined more than 1,730 young leaders from across the country, a record high for the “Youth to Washington” Tour. In addition to the Capitol, they also visited Arlington National Cemetery, the Washington National Cathedral, several Smithsonian Museums, the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum, the World War II Memorial, memorials to Presidents Lincoln, Jefferson, Washington and Roosevelt, the National Archives, the Royal Embassy of Saudi Arabia, the Newseum, and several other historical sites.

Pictured from left: Sierra Wetmore, Hannah Liske, Congressman Mike Bost, Brittaney Wynn, and Rachel Beckham.


Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors in high schools that are within the service area of Tri-County Electric Cooperative are eligible to participate in the annual program.

To learn more about the “Youth to Washington” Tour go to or

Tri-County Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy — an alliance of 750 local, consumer-owned electric utilities around the country. Tri-County Electric is committed to providing superior service based on four core principles: integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community. The co-op serves more than 16,130 meters over 3,397 miles of line in parts of Franklin, Jefferson, Marion, Perry and Washington counties.

For more information visit

Leave a Comment