Skip to content

NCHS FFA Brings Honors Home From State Convention

The NCHS FFA sent a group of students to the Illinois FFA State Convention, held on June 13 through 15 at the Bank of Springfield Convention Center in Springfield. The NCHS Chapter brought home numerous awards from the convention, which are listed on page B8, along with more photos from the convention. NCHS Students attending the convention included, FROM LEFT, BACK ROW, Carli Hoffman, Riley Bergmann, Cole Herrmann, Derek Fullerton, Hunter Liszewski, Ryan Restoff, Grace Gutjahr. MIDDLE ROW, Liz Bierman, Andrew Brown, Tabor Kozuszek, Alex Johannes, Jordan Woods, Dillon Herrmann. FRONT ROW, Madisyn Reichmann, Sarah Zyk, Chloe Pelka, Emily Stern and Madison Schuette.

Members of the Nashville FFA Chapter attended the 89th annual Illinois State FFA Convention on June 13-15 along with more than 5,000 other FFA members, advisors, and guests.

“Maximize” was the theme of the three-day event which recognizes annual successes of Illinois FFA members, elects the major state officer team, and celebrates agriculture.

Students at the convention were greeted with activities including an exhibit hall featuring colleges and businesses, an evening dance and talent show, and an opportunity to engage in the history of Illinois’ capital city.

The convention program featured keynote presentations by National FFA Central Region Vice President Valerie Earley, of Minn., and Hoan Do, a former contestant on “American Ninja Warrior,” student success coach, and motivational speaker.

During the convention, the following awards were presented to the Nashville FFA chapter:

• Nashville FFA Chapter Ranked 8th in the state

• Scrapbook Competition State Winner (5th consecutive year, seventh year overall)

Top Chapter Scrapbook Award, BACK ROW Liz Bierman; Emily Stern; Carli Hoffman; Alex Johannes; FRONT ROW Julie Bond-Ledford, advisor; Chloe Pelka; Madisyn Riechmann.

• Job Interview State Finalist: Mason Neidbalski

Job Interview Competition State Finalist Mason Niedbalski.

• State Proficiency Winners: Mason Neidbalski & Cole Herrmann



Dairy Production Entrepreneurship State Proficiency Winner, Mason Niedbalski, FROM LEFT, Julie Bond-Ledford, advisor; Niedbalski; Aaron and Karri Niedbalski, Mason’s parents.

Specialty Crop Production State Proficiency Winner Cole Herrmann FROM LEFT, Julie Bond-Ledford, advisor; Herrmann; Charlene and Carl Herrmann, Cole’s parents.

• State Degree Recipients: Brendon Schettler, Tyler Jahnke, Derek Fullerton, Cade Krueger, Andrew Bierman, Bri Cobb, Sarah Kozuszek, Johnna Bergmann, and Neil Kachuba

State Degree Recipients, FROM LEFT, Bri Cobb, Brendon Schettler, Johnna Bergmann, Derek Fullerton, Tyler Jahnke, Sarah Kozuszek, Cade Krueger and Andrew Bierman. NOT PICTURED, Neil Kachuba.

• Outstanding Chapter President: Austin Schorfheide

• Top Ten Chapter Reporter: Alex Johannes

Outstanding Chapter Reporter Award winner Alex Johannes.

• National Chapter Award Gold Emblem Winner

• National Chapter Award: Building Communities Section Winner

• National Chapter Award National Finalist

• Farm Credit News Room Press Workers:  Alex Johannes, Mady Reichmann, Liz Bierman, Chloe Pelka, Emily Stern, Holli Fullerton, Madison Schuette, and Carli Hoffman

• State Greenhand Quizbowl CDE Participants:  Dillon Herrmann, Andrew Brown, Grace Gutjahr, Jordan Woods, and Madison Schuette

State Greenhand Quizbowl CDE Participants, FROM LEFT, Dillon Herrmann, Andrew Brown, Grace Gutjahr, Jordan Woods, and Madison Schuette.

• Harvest For All campaign, State Winner.

Harvest For All Honorees, FROM LEFT, Carli Hoffman, Riley Bergmann, Marc Bremer, Alex Johannes, Tabor Kozuszek and Holli Fullerton.


Leave a Comment