Skip to content

CORLHS National Honor Society Sees Record Induction, Record Membership

CORLHS National Honor Society Sees Record Induction, Record Membership

A total of 17 students participated in the Sept. 28 National Honor Society induction ceremony held at Christ Our Rock Lutheran High School. The induction brings the chapter membership to 33 students, just one member shy of the school record set last year.

New members inducted were senior Karl Owens and as juniors Erin Carr, Mollee Eickmeyer, Nathan Ellis, Grace Foltz, Nathan Gardner, Erin Harrell, Jennifer Johnson, Haydn Johnston, Mady Kroeger, Macie Martin, Trecie Pennington and Madison Schaubert.

Also inducted were transfer student Brooke Bowman, and seniors Nicholas Easley, Charles Ingram and Alex Keele, who were accepted into chapter membership during the spring 2017 semester.

Guest speakers for the ceremony were Pastor Timothy Mueller of St. John Lutheran Church in New Minden, and his wife, Dawn Mueller, teacher and published author. Pastor Mueller and his wife noted that neither of them could have foreseen in high school the path they would take in life. They then shared with the students how they had each served God in their various ways including outreach to disaster victims, pastoral ministry, mission trips overseas, etc. Mrs. Mueller related the sequence of events that led her to author a Bible story book which has now been translated into a number of languages and distributed to various overseas mission fields.

Seventeen were inducted on Sept. 28 into the Christ Our Rock Lutheran High School chapter of the National Honor Society. Seated, front row, FROM LEFT, are Mady Kroeger, Erin Carr, Mollee Eickmeyer, Macie Martin, Madison Schaubert, Grace Foltz, Erin Harrell, Jennifer Johnson, Brooke Bowman and Trecie Pennington; back row, FROM LEFT, Rev. Timothy and Dawn Mueller, guest speakers; Nicholas Easely, Karl Owens, Nathan Ellis, Haydn Johnston, Nathan Gardner, Alex Keele, Charles Ingram, Don Duensing, principal of Christ Our Rock; and Wilfred Pennington, chapter adviser.

Don Duensing, executive director of Christ Our Rock, opened the meeting with prayer and delivered the welcoming address. NHS adviser Wilfred Pennington introduced each inductee and presented them with a certificate, membership card and NHS pin.

Chapter President Corinne DeBoard gave a brief update on chapter activities. During the previous school year the chapter were servers for the Trinity Lutheran Friendship

Guild dinner held at Trinity Lutheran Church in Centralia. The chapter also helped serve at the Centralia First Baptist Church’s annual pancake breakfast, held in October.

Other chapter officers include Mandey Hafford, vice president; Chelsey Varela, secretary; and Austin Britt, treasurer. The four officer participated in the official candle lighting portion of the ceremony.

The core values of NHS are scholarship, leadership, character and service. All members must maintain a 3.5 or higher GPA and have performed at least 40 hours of volunteer service prior to induction. In addition to an outstanding academic record, the CORLHS students selected for National Honor Society membership have also displayed strengths in leadership and responsibility. All are active in their school, community and/or respective church homes.

The National Honor Society was created in 1921 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals. The society was the vision of Edward Rynearson, a Nebraska high school principal.

His idea was to create a nationwide organization that would create an enthusiasm for scholarship, stimulate a desire to render service, promote worthy leadership and encourage the development of character in the nation’s secondary schools.

Leave a Comment