Skip to content

Three Hornettes Named All-Conference

By Brent Huelsmann
The Southern Illinois River to River Conference announced their All-Conference teams for the Ohio and Mississippi Divisions. Nashville and Carterville led the Mississippi Division with three players apiece, while Harrisburg led the Ohio Division with four players selected.
Overall the Hornettes finished 22-8 this season. Of the Hornettes eight losses, six of them came to teams that won a Regional Championship. Okawville won the IHSA Class 1A Okawville Regional. Central won the IHSA Class 3A Freeburg Regional. Mater Dei won the IHSA Class 2A Pinckneyville Regional. Harrisburg won the IHSA Class 2A Harrisburg Regional. Mater Dei and Central both won their Sectional this season, and Central advanced to the State Tournament in Class 3A. Nashville finished 10-0 in SIRR Mississippi Division play this season, winning the conference outright. The Hornettes had three players named All-Conference this season. Karly Stanowski and Paige Kasten each were named All-Conference for the third consecutive season. Libby Ahlers was named All-Conference for the first time.
Stanowski averaged 14.7 points and 9.3 rebounds for the Hornettes this season. Stanowski surpassed the 1000 career points plateau on January 4, when the Hornettes defeated DuQuoin. Stanowski would break the career rebounds record at NCHS on January 11 against Carlyle. Stanowski would then grab her 1000th career rebound on February 6 during the Hornettes Regional Semi-Final win over Althoff. Stanowski broke the career made free throws record on January 15 against Civic Memorial. Stanowski finished her career with 1,219 career points.
Kasten came into the year already holding the single season record for three point field goals made, as well as the career three point record. Kasten made 71 shots from behind the arc to push the career record to 251, which is 76 more than any other player in school history. Overall Kasten averaged 10.4 points per game this season for Nashville. Kasten scored her 1000th career point against Carterville on January 25. Kasten finished her career with 1,055 points.
Ahlers was named All-Conference for the first time. Ahlers averaged 7.3 points per game this season where she started 28 games for the Hornettes. Ahlers racked up 41 assists and 23 steals this season. Ahlers started the majority of the season for the Hornettes, but had to overcome a late season injury. Ahlers would sprain her ankle on January 27 against Mater Dei, but would miss the final two games of the regular season. Ahlers worked hard, and was back in time for the Regional Semi-Final game against Althoff.
The rest of the players named SIRR Mississippi Division All-Conference were: Jeniah Thompson, Megan Barton, and Abbey Crain all of Carterville; Kenzie Rushing of Pinckneyville; Angel Helm of Anna-Jonesboro; Grace Haney of DuQuoin; and Amyia Henry of Sparta.
The players named SIRR Ohio Division All-Conference were: Matty Hawkins, Jess Hopson, Lotte Miller and Karsyn Davis all from Harrisburg; Kayla Walker and Arie Ciganovich both of Murphysboro; Ebriessa Casy and Mady Wallace both of Benton; Megan Beery and Cali Wright, both of West Frankfort; and Lauren Coakley of Massac County.

Leave a Comment