Skip to content

Hornets Hold End Of The Season Banquet

By Brent Huelsmann
The Nashville High School boys basketball team capped off their season with their annual end of the season banquet, held in the NCHS Cafeteria on March 20.
The NCHS Cheerleading squad was the first to hand out awards. Parker Quillman was given the Most-Improved Award. Emily Wisely given the Spirit Award. Sarah Staley was given the Sportsmanship Award, and Holly Hutchison was given the Leadership Award.
The Cheerleading squad advanced to the ICCA State Championships in the Small Varsity Division. The Cheerleading squad advanced by finishing fourth out of eight teams in Edwardsville on December 16. The ICCA State Championships were held on January 6 in Springfield.
The freshmen boys basketball team finished the season with an 18-2 record. The Freshmen Hornets won the Pinckneyville Tournament this season.
The Freshmen/Sophomore team finished with a 15-3 record, with two of their three losses coming right at the buzzer. The Freshmen/Sophomore team finished second at the Sparta Tournament and third at the Murphysboro Tournament. Terry Pelczynski led the Freshmen/Sophomore team with 16.1 points per game this season.
The JV team finished the year with an 11-4 record. The JV team finished tied for first in the conference with an 8-2 record. Overall the JV team scored 731 points, averaging 48.7 points per game, and gave up just 37 points per game. The JV team was led in scoring by Terry Pelczynski  who scored 14.9 points per game.
The Varsity Hornets team finished with a record of 23-8. Nashville finished 8-2 in conference. The Hornets won the IHSA Class 2A Staunton Regional, and placed in each of the three tournaments they entered this season. Nashville began the season with a second place finish in the Mascoutah Tournament. Nashville defeated Carlyle to finish third place in the Mater Dei Holiday Tournament.
Two individual awards were handed out at the banquet. Bryce Bultman was named the team MVP. Bultman led the Hornets with 15.3 points per game, and led the Hornets with 7.2 rebounds per game. Carson Parker was given the Free Throw Percentage Award. Carson Parker led the Hornets with a 73.9% free throw percentage this season.
Dale Anderson, Cameron Parker, Jake Haley, and Brandon Schnitker each received an award for dedication to the basketball program.

Brandon Schnitker, Jake Haley, Cameron Parker, and Dale Anderson each received an award for dedication to the Hornet Basketball Program.

Holly Hutchison received the Leadership Award, Emily Wisely received the Spirit Award; Sarah Staley received the Sportsmanship Award; and Parker Quillman received the Most Improved Award.

Bryce Bultman received the Team MVP Award. Carson Parker received the Free Throw Percentage Award.

Leave a Comment