Skip to content

Three Hornettes Named All-South

By Brent Huelsmann
The Southern Illinois Coaches Association announced the players named All South in classes 1A, 2A, and 3A this past week with three Okawville Lady Rockets, and three Nashville Hornettes receiving the honor. Nashville coach Doug Althoff was also named Co-Coach of the Year in Class 2A along with Harrisburg’s Jake Stewart.
In Class 1A fifteen players were named All-South. Audrey Jansen, Casean Tebbe, and Madelyn Tepe were the three representatives of Okawville named All-South. Hailey Chubb of Gallatin County; Alexis Crain of Meridian, Meredith Flamm of Cobden; Kennedy Harris of Galatia-Thompsonville; Courtney Hoppers of Christopher; Rakyah Jeter of Meridian; Lexi King and Payton Sopczak of Goreville; Karley Kothe of Steeleville; Callie Lueking and Madison Tiemann of Woodlawn; and Allie Whittington of Elverado. Jerry Johnson of Meridian was named Coach of the Year in Class 1A.
Libby Ahlers, Karly Stanowski, and Paige Kasten were the three Hornettes named All-South this season in Class 2A by the SICA. Overall 21 players were named All-South this season. Harrisburg led the way on the Class 2A list with four players named as Karsyn Davis, Matty Hawkins, Jess Hopson and Lotte Miller were all named All-South. Rounding out the 2A list were: Kaleigh Dodson and Katherine Drone of Hamilton County; Grace Haney of DuQuoin; Angel Helm of Anna-Jonesboro; Lindsey Holhubner and Haleigh Keeling of Vienna; Sami McCowan and Paige Tucker of Sesser-Valier-Waltonville; Sophie Richards of Red Bud; Kenzie Rushing of Pinckneyville; Kylar Slover of Fairfield; Abby Vaughn of Carmi-White County; and Destani Williams of Chester.
The Class 3A All-South Players were: Megan Barton, Abbey Crain, and Jeniah Thompson of Carterville; Abby Bayer of Marion; Ebriessa Casey of Benton; Arie Ciganovich and Kayla Walker of Murphysboro; Maddie Doan and Atlexus Green of Carbondale; Annibelle Harrison of Mt. Vernon; Taylor LeCrone and Julie Luna of Olney; and Trinity Meadows of Salem. The Coach of the Year in Class 3A was Matt Crain of Carterville.

Leave a Comment