Skip to content

Four Nashville Coaches Win Coach Of The Year Awards

From left to right NMS Boys Basketball Coach Will Reinburg, NMS Girls Basketball Coach Tierney Moore, and NCHS Girls Basketball Coach Doug Althoff. Not Pictured: NCHS Boys Basketball Coach Wayne Harre.
By Brent Huelsmann
The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association held their annual Coach of the Year banquet this past week with four Nashville coaches receiving Coach of the Year Awards. NCHS coaches Doug Althoff and Wayne Harre, as well as NMS coaches Tierney Moore and Will Reinburg all received Coach of the Year Awards at the banquet.
Moore coached the Jr. Hornettes to their first State Championship in school history. The Jr. Hornettes came back from a seven point deficit at halftime to defeat Pontiac in the SIJHSAA Class M State Championship Game. The Jr. Hornettes finished the season with a record of 24-4 this season.
The Jr. Hornets finished just short of a state title this season as Reinburg led Nashville to a runner-up finish. The Jr. Hornets fell to Christopher in the SIJHSAA Class M State Championship game. Nashville finished with a record of 21-7
Harre a longtime coach of the girls basketball team at NCHS, was at the helm of the boys basketball team for the first time this season. Harre led the Hornets to a 23-8 record this season. The Hornets finished third in the Mater Dei Holiday Tournament, finished second at the Mascoutah Tip Off Classic, and won the Nashville Invitational Tournament this season. The Hornets would win the IHSA Class 2A Staunton Regional.
Althoff led the Hornettes to a perfect 10-0 record in the SIRR Mississippi Division this past season. The Hornettes finished second in the Nashville Girls Basketball Invitational Tournament to kick off the season. Overall the Hornettes finished with a record of 22-6 this season. The Hornettes won the IHSA Class 2A Nashville Regional.

Leave a Comment