Skip to content

T-SJ Lady Titans Take 6th At National Tournament

The TSJ/ILS Lady Titans girls basketball team wrapped up the best season in school history with a sixth place finish at the LBAA National Lutheran Tournament. The Lady Titans finished the season with a 40-5 record. The 40 wins is the most in school history. The season also featured a 22 game winning streak. Accolades this season were: Pinckneyville 204 Tournament Runner-Up, TSJ/ILS All Lutheran Tournament Champions, Trinity Edwardsville Tip-Off Tournament Runner-Up, SIJHSAA Class S Regional Champions, SIJHSAA Class S State Champions, Trinity Springfield All Lutheran Tournament Champions, Illinois LSA 3rd Place Finishers, as well as the sixth place finish at the LBAA National Lutheran Tournament.

The Lady Titans kicked off the tournament, which was held at Valparaiso University on March 29 with a game against Christ Norfolk Lutheran of Norfolk, Nebraska. The Lady Titans dominated the first half of play on their way to a 33-21 win.

TSJ/ILS led 7-2 after one quarter, and 17-4 at the break. The Lady Titans were outscored in the second half, but it didn’t make a difference as TSJ/ILS picked up the win.

The Lady Titans were led by Megan Rennegarbe with 16 points. Raelyn Obermeier added six points, followed by Kris May with five points. Keeghan Renth finished with three points. Lauren Rapp chipped in two points. Mallory Bening rounded out the scoring with one point.

The Lady Titans were back in action later that night against St. John Lutheran School of Ellisville, Missouri. TSJ/ILS used a huge third quarter to put away St. John 39-29.

A close game in the first half, the Lady Titans led 8-7 after one quarter and 16-14 at half. TSJ/ILS doubled their first half production in the third quarter alone as the Lady Titans outscored St. John 16-5 to take a 32-19 lead into the final stanza. In the fourth, there would be no comeback bid as the Lady Titans took a ten point win.

Front Row: Kris May, Raelyn Obermeier, Megan Rennegarbe, Lauren Rapp, and Mallory Bening. Back Row: Joe Kirby, Shaun Renth, Keeghan Renth, Nora Wood, Ireland Rushing, Kristina Gossman, Kyley Kwiatkowski, and Dylan Fullerton.

Leave a Comment