Skip to content

Hornette Softball Team Hands Out Awards

The Nashville Hornettes softball team handed out their end of season awards this past week. The Hornettes finished the season strong winning 11 of their final 15 games. The Hornettes fell to IHSA Class 2A State Runner-Up Pinckneyville in the Regional Championship game. Nashville finished the season with a 16-13 record.

Five players received individual awards at the banquet. Sophie Heck and Josie Woodrome were named Co-MVPs of the season. Woodrome also received an award as the Top Offensive Player. Libby Ahlers received the award as the Top Defensive Player. Jordan Donato received the Hornette Award. Whitley Hunter received the Most Improved Player Award.

Woodrome led the Hornettes in a plethora of offensive and pitching categories. Woodrome led the Hornettes with a .432 batting average, 38 hits, 24 singles, seven home runs, and 27 RBIs. In the circle, Woodrome led Nashville with 110.1 innings pitched. Woodrome went 14-3 on the season, 159 strikeouts, and a 2.221 ERA.

Heck led the Hornettes in doubles this season, as well as plate appearances and at-bats. Heck notched 13 doubles on the season. Heck finished with 33 hits, 17 singles, three homes, and 21 RBIs for Nashville. Heck batted .340 on the season

Hunter played in every game for Nashville this season. Hunter was second on the Hornettes with nine doubles. Hunter batted .309 on the season, walked 11 times, drove in 17 runs, and scored 19 runs. Hunter hit one home run this past year.

Ahlers was named the Top Defensive player for the Hornettes this season. Ahlers finished with 24 hits, 15 singles, four doubles, two triples, three home runs, 17 RBIs, and 19 runs scored. Ahlers played primarily second base for Nashville over the course of the season.

Donato played in 18 of the Hornettes 29 games this season. Donato finished with just 10 plate appearances. Donato scored seven runs for the Hornettes.

From left to right, Sophie Heck, Whitley Hunter, Josie Woodrome, and Jordan Donato all received awards at the Softball Award Banquet, held on July 31. Not Pictured: Libby Ahlers

Leave a Comment